The goal is to ensure that motorists are following state laws and have the coverage they require.
Electronic Illinois auto insurance checks will be starting twice per year to make sure drivers in the state are purchasing and maintaining at least the minimum required amount of coverage.
The announcement regarding the checks was made last week by the Secretary of State’s Office.
Starting in July, the Illinois auto insurance verifications will take place randomly throughout the year up to twice. The state will take this opportunity to help to ensure motorists are not driving uninsured.
“My office has led the effort to establish and implement an automobile insurance verification system online which will serve to reduce the number of Illinois motorists driving while uninsured,” said Secretary of State Jesse White. “The message is simple: if you don’t have auto insurance, get covered now. It is the law.”
Those whose Illinois auto insurance coverage cannot be verified will be contacted by the state.
The state will contact any driver whose car insurance policy cannot be verified through the electronic checks. They will be provided with the opportunity to give proof of their coverage or will receive additional instructions regarding how to proceed.
Vehicles in the state with valid registration are required to comply with Mandatory Insurance Law. The minimum coverage in the state is at least $25,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, and a minimum of $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident. Drivers must also be covered by a minimum of $20,000 for property damage.
If an initial electronic attempt to verify a driver’s coverage is unsuccessful at ensuring that the minimum liability policy is in place, it will be checked a second time thirty days later. The additional time makes it possible for the state to determine if the licensed vehicle has been sold, is now in storage, or has been taken out of driving service in some other way. If the second attempt does not confirm that the car no longer needs to be insured by the owner in question or that there is a policy in place, the registered vehicle owner will be issued a registration suspension letter.
The vehicle owner and an Illinois auto insurance company must prove that adequate coverage is in place within 30 days of the date of the letter, through an insurance agent, to prevent the suspension from becoming active. If that does not occur, the vehicle’s registration will be suspended. To remove that suspension, proof of coverage will need to be provided and a $100 fee will need to be paid.