If certain insurance standards are met by an adult’s motorcycle policy, the law in Florida doesn’t require that individual to wear a helmet while they drive that vehicle.
The majority of bikers are considered to be safe drivers. However, the problem is that they can still be injured by other careless motorists regardless of the care that they take.
According to Florida Statute 316.211:
• A person must be wearing protective headgear that has been properly and securely fastened in order to ride a motorcycle. That headgear must meet the Federal Motorcycle Vehicle Safety Standard 218 as per the United States Department of Transportation.
• A motorcycle driver must be wearing proper department-approved eye protection.
_________________________Random Success Quotes to Remember ~ “Successful people do what unsuccessful people are not willing to do. Don't wish it were easier; wish you were better..” - Jim Rohn
• A person who is 21 years of age or older may ride a motorcycle without the aforementioned head protection if he or she has a minimum of $10,000 in medical benefits that will cover injuries experienced as a result of an accident while riding the vehicle. This law is subject to some exceptions.
• A driver younger than 16 years old cannot ride a moped without the proper headgear that has been securely attached and that is compliant with Federal Motorcycle Vehicle Safety Standard 218.
• Drivers can request a copy of the list that identifies all of the acceptable headgear from the U.S. Department of Transportation.
• Failing to wear the appropriate head and/or eye protection without the necessary health insurance coverage is considered to be a noncriminal traffic infraction. It is punishable according to chapter 318 as a nonmoving violation.