Motorists whose existing policies do not meet these new levels will need to purchase new coverage.
Nevada drivers will need to make sure they meet the new auto insurance liability requirements in the state. They have until July 1 to purchase coverage with limits of at least 25/50/20.
Some policies will already provide the minimum coverage but drivers are encouraged to check.
It has been a long time since drivers in Nevada have had to change their auto insurance liability coverage. For many decades, the minimum requirement had been $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $30,000 for bodily injury per accident, and another $10,000 for property damage (represented as 15/30/20). That said, the state has acknowledged that those levels aren’t keeping up with the expenses faced in the industry.
For that reason, Nevada is changing its minimum liability requirements as of July 1. This is the result of passing Senate Bill 308. Now, the minimums have risen to $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 for property damage (represented as 25/50/20), reported Property Casualty 360.
_________________________Random Success Quotes to Remember ~ “Successful people do what unsuccessful people are not willing to do. Don't wish it were easier; wish you were better..” - Jim Rohn
Many drivers already have policies that meet the 25/50/20 minimum auto insurance liability requirement.
That said, drivers carrying auto insurance policies that met only the previous minimum requirement will no longer meet the state’s law as of Monday. If they do not purchase adequate coverage in time, they will no longer be in compliance with the state law and risk facing traffic citations or Department of Motor Vehicle fines.
This will likely mean that many drivers will be facing increases in their auto insurance premiums. Anyone who previously carried the minimum coverage will need to upgrade their policies and this will more than likely be more expensive.
““While this new law isn’t going into effect until July, the division has already received and approved filings from insurance companies with the new minimum vehicle liability limits,” said Nevada Insurance Commissioner Barbara Richardson, when addressing the subject of the new auto insurance liability requirements. “This means some companies may have already begun to implement this new requirement for their policyholders when they renew their policies or when they write new business.”