Parents are paying premiums up to 71 percent higher in the state because of these younger motorists.
Parents of teen drivers in Texas are watching their auto insurance premiums skyrocket as they add their adolescent children to their policies, causing them to have to pay an average of 71 percent more than they used to.
The parents in the state are finding the family premiums to become suddenly more difficult to afford.
When teens are old enough to obtain their driver’s license, it is one of the most important and exciting parts of their lives. However, parents are now finding that the auto insurance premiums that they need to pay in Texas can make it much more difficult for them to be able to provide their adolescent children with the independence that they crave.
What Texas parents may not realize, however, is that the increase in auto insurance premiums is lower there than most of the country.
Although a married couple may suddenly find themselves paying 71 percent more in Texas when they add their teen to their auto insurance policy, the average across the country is 84 percent, which is notably higher. In fact, Texas sees the ninth lowest rates in the country when it comes to teens being added to family coverage.
_________________________Random Success Quotes to Remember ~ “Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.” - Winston Churchill
In Arkansas parents are paying the highest auto insurance increases when they add their teens to their policies, as they watch their premiums skyrocket by 116.34 percent. Similarly, Utah parents face increases of 114.62 percent when their kids start to drive. Wyoming isn’t much lower, with a raise of 112.11 percent for teens added to family policies. In Alabama there is a 110.6 percent increase, while in Idaho it jumps by 106.74 percent.
On the exact opposite end of the scale, it is in Hawaii that parents see the smallest change in the expense added to their policies when their teens join the coverage. Their cost rises by only 18.1 percent, because the law in the state does not allow auto insurance companies to consider gender, age, or length of driving experience as a part of their premiums calculations.